We are so excited you have decided to join us for our virtual Convention this year! Every day is full of events and we have done our best to make it possible for everyone on both the West Coast and East Coast to participate. If you like, you can download the schedule and print it out for your convenience. Below you will find descriptions of each event along with a “join” button next to the event. If you would like to join the event simply click “join,” enter the Convention password that was emailed to you when you are prompted, and that’s it! We look forward to seeing you!

(‘Join’ link will not work until after registration closes)

Loading Events
25
June
Friday

Opening of Convention and First Business Meeting

June 25, 2021 @ 11:50 am - 4:00 pm EDT
  • This event has passed.

11:50am ET / 10:50am CT / 9:50am MT / 8:50am PT

Join us for the opening of Convention 2021: Navigating the Rapids in the Stream of Providence! We begin with 10 minutes of gathering music performed by Jean Dougherty, the organist for the Church of the Holy City in Wilmington, DE. The music will be followed by the opening of the 2021 Virtual Convention by our President Rev. Jane Siebert and the reading of the Constitution Article II, Sec 2 by our Secretary Karen Conger. 

Afterwards, join us for our first Business Meeting where we will hear reports given about various ministries and initiatives that are active in the Denomination. We will hear from the Officers of the Swedenborgian Church, General Council, Council of Ministers, Our Daily Bread editor, Spiritual Sunshine: An Online Swedenborgian Community, The Messenger editor, and hear the SCYL and Youth Report. (~2 hours). 

After a 30 minute break, we will rejoin the meeting to hear from the Standing Committees, as well as our Social Justice Committee and a report from Swedenborgian in Action Against Racism. (~1.5 hours). Program will be presented live, as a Zoom webinar and requires Convention registration to join. You are welcome to participate in a short Q&A after each presentation.

Details
Date: June 25, 2021
Time: 11:50 am - 4:00 pm
Website: Zoom.com