We are so excited you have decided to join us for our virtual Convention this year! Every day is full of events and we have done our best to make it possible for everyone on both the West Coast and East Coast to participate. If you like, you can download the schedule and print it out for your convenience. Below you will find descriptions of each event along with a “join” button next to the event. If you would like to join the event simply click “join,” enter the Convention password that was emailed to you when you are prompted, and that’s it! We look forward to seeing you!

(‘Join’ link will not work until after registration closes)

Loading Events
27
June
Sunday

Mini Course #8 – The Buddha of the North: Swedenborg’s Deep Parallels to Buddhist Thought hosted by Rev. Cory Bradford-Watts

June 27, 2021 @ 5:30 pm - 6:20 pm EDT
  • This event has passed.

5:30pm ET / 4:30pm CT / 3:30pm MT / 2:30pm PT

Join Rev. Cory Bradford-Watts for a mini course hosted with Zoom Meeting using the password that you were given when you registered for Convention.

Course Description: 

We explore what I believe to be some of Emanuel Swedenborg’s surprisingly deep parallels to Buddhist scripture and writings, as well as touch on D.T. Suzuki’s reason for calling Swedenborg “the Buddha of the North.” These point to many of the practical applications of Swedenborg’s ideas, highlighting helpful aspects of his thought that are sometimes overlooked.

Rev. Cory Bradford-Watts is the minister of Spiritual Sunshine: Swedenborgian Community Online (SwedenborgianCommunity.org) and the beloved community of the Church of the Good Shepherd, in Kitchener, ON. With a background in finance, economics, and computer science, Cory found a calling to help empower spiritual health after a near-death experience and diving into Swedenborg’s writings.

Details
Date: June 27, 2021
Time: 5:30 pm - 6:20 pm