We are so excited you have decided to join us for our virtual Convention this year! Every day is full of events and we have done our best to make it possible for everyone on both the West Coast and East Coast to participate. If you like, you can download the schedule and print it out for your convenience. Below you will find descriptions of each event along with a “join” button next to the event. If you would like to join the event simply click “join,” enter the Convention password that was emailed to you when you are prompted, and that’s it! We look forward to seeing you!

(‘Join’ link will not work until after registration closes)

Loading Events
27
June
Sunday

Mini Course #7 – The Lost History of the New Church in India: D. Gopaul Chetty and the Marriage of Swedenborg and Śaiva Siddhānta hosted by Eleanor Schnarr

June 27, 2021 @ 5:30 pm - 6:20 pm EDT
  • This event has passed.

5:30pm ET / 4:30pm CT / 3:30pm MT / 2:30pm PT

Join Eleanor Schnarr for a mini course hosted with Zoom Meeting using the password that you were given when you registered for Convention.

Course Description: 

Between 1923 and 1953 Gopaul Chetty, theologian and social reformer was president of the Hindi Swedenborg Society. Through his hard work this period saw the explosive growth a a unique movement which married the disparate philosophies of Swedenborgianism and Saiva Siddhanta. Under Chetty’s leadership, this community inspired a new and exiting theological perspective on Swedenborgian philosophy which married the dharma of East and West for the benefit of a New and ever changing world.

Eleanor Schnarr is an artist, poet, and Swedenborgian mystic who lives and works in the San Francisco Bay Area. Eleanor has an MFA from the San Francisco Art Institute, a Certificate from the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts and is currently studying at the Center for Swedenborgian Studies at the GTU. A Seventh generation Swedenborgian, Eleanor has been involved in the practice and study of the work of the Swedish mystic since childhood. In her visual work, Eleanor uses oil paint on paper to recreate the visionary experiences of the interior world in a language of line and color; an esthetic which evokes the stained glass windows of the cathedral in her hometown of Bryn Athyn, PA. Eleanor’s study and practice centers around the refinement and understanding of the interoceptive sense, embodied spirituality, and internal breathing.

Details
Date: June 27, 2021
Time: 5:30 pm - 6:20 pm